Home :: Awards > JSAP Fellow > 10th JSAP Fellow (2016)

10th JSAP Fellow (2016)

2016 JSAP Fellow Award Recipients

Kazuya MASU
Chairman of the 10th Fellow Award Candidate Selection Committee
The Japan Society of Applied Physics

The Japan Society of Applied Physics (JSAP) established JSAP Fellow Award in 2006, to honor its members who have contributed greatly to the progress of applied physics through their continuous activities in JSAP. The Fellow Awards were presented to 339 members and 15 JSAP Fellow International by 9th.

The nominations for the JSAP Fellow and the JSAP Fellow International were solicited in Oyo Buturi (Vol. 84, No. 9), the Japanese language journal of our society. 19 candidates for the JSAP Fellow and 3 candidates for JSAP Fellow International were nominated by our members. Each candidate was carefully screened on the basis of their accomplishments in research, technological development, and educational and public-interest activities. After two meetings convened by Fellow Award Candidate Selection Committee, the number of candidates was finally narrowed down to 15. Additional review on the contribution to our society was done to select the final 3 candidates of the JSAP Fellow International. This selection results were approved by the Board of JSAP on 11 May, 2016.

The 10th JSAP Fellow Award Ceremony will be held on 13 September 2016, during the 2016 JSAP Autumn Meeting. The commemorative talks by the JSAP Fellow International recipients are also planned on 13 September.

We express our deepest gratitude to all those who nominated many award-worthy candidates and who contribute their time to select the candidates. We hope that more and more excellent candidates will be nominated and that the Fellow Award will develop into authoritative awards of JSAP.

Fellow Award Recipients and Their Research Titles

JSAP Fellow International

[ Photo ]

Fellow RecipientsDavid Attwood
AffiliationProfessor in Residence Emeritus, University of California, Berkeley
Title of the AccomplishmentPioneering Research of Soft X-Ray Microscope and International Contribution for the Synchrotron Radiation Science
Fellow RecipientsAlexei Gruverman
AffiliationCharles Bessey Professor of Physics, University of Nebraska — Lincoln
Title of the AccomplishmentExploration of Critical Properties of Ferroelectric Materials Using Piezoelectric Force Microscopy (PFM)
Fellow RecipientsJohn Robertson
AffiliationProfessor and Deputy Head of Electrical Engineering, Depertment of Engineering, Cambridge University
Title of the AccomplishmentSeminal Theoretical Study of Electronic Materials and Contribution to Applied Physics of Japan

JSAP Fellow

Fellow RecipientsChihaya Adachi
AffiliationDirector/Professor, Center for Organic Photonics and Electronics Research (OPERA), Kyushu University
Title of the AccomplishmentCreation of Organic Semiconductor Materials and Their Application for Organic Light-Emitting Diodes
Fellow RecipientsDaisuke Ueda
AffiliationProfessor, Green Innovation Center, Kyoto Institute of Technology
Title of the AccomplishmentFor the Contribution to the Development & Industrialization of Si & Compound Semiconductor Devices
Fellow RecipientsYukiharu Uraoka
AffiliationProfessor, Graduate School of Materials Science, Nara Institute of Science and Technology
Title of the AccomplishmentStudy on High Performance Thin Film Transistors and Their Evaluation Techniques
Fellow RecipientsSatoshi Kamiyama
AffiliationProfessor, Department of Materials Science and Engineering, Meijo University
Title of the AccomplishmentContribution to Research and Evolution of Group-III Nitride-Based Light-Emitting Devices
Fellow RecipientsMasatoshi Kitagawa
AffiliationSpecially Appointed Professor, COI Planning Office, Orgenazation for Center of innovation (COI) Research, Osaka university
Title of the AccomplishmentGeneration and Industrialization of Functional Devices Using Advanced Controlling Thin Film Processing
Fellow RecipientsTetsuomi Sogawa
AffiliationDirector, Basic Research Laboratories, Nippon Telegraph and Telephone Corporation
Title of the AccomplishmentControl of Photonic and Spin-Related Properties in Semiconductor Quantum Structures by Surface Acoustic Waves
Fellow RecipientsKaoru Tamada
AffiliationProfessor, Institute for Materials Chemistry and Engineering, Kyushu University
Title of the AccomplishmentA Study of Self-Assembled Molecules and Nanoparticles for Device Applications
Fellow RecipientsEmi Tamechika
AffiliationProfessor, Center for Economic Growth Strategy, Yokohama National University
Title of the AccomplishmentActivities on Promoting Equal Participation of Men and Women, and Cultivation of Human Resources in the Japan Society of Applied Physics
Fellow RecipientsAkira Fujimaki
AffiliationProfessor, Graduate School of Engineering, Nagoya University
Title of the AccomplishmentPioneering Research for Advanced Superconductor Digital Electronics
Fellow RecipientsTsuyoshi Horikawa
AffiliationChief Senior Researcher, Electronics and Photonics Research Institute, National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (AIST)
Title of the AccomplishmentResearch and Development of Process Integration Technology for LSIs and Silicon Optical Integrated Circuits
Fellow RecipientsAtsutaka Maeda
AffiliationProfessor, Department of Basic Sciences, The University of Tokyo
Title of the AccomplishmentOutstanding Contribution to Clarify Physical Properties and to Synthesize High-Quality Thin Films of High-Temperature Superconductors
Fellow RecipientsIchiro Mizushima
AffiliationSenior Manager, Storage & Electronic Devices Solutions Company Discrete Semiconductor Div. Advanced Discrete Development Center dvanced pitaxial Growth and Process Development Department, Toshiba Corporation
Title of the AccomplishmentResearch of Doping Technology and Epitaxial Growth for Silicon-Based Semiconductors and Its Industrial Application
Fellow RecipientsYusuke Mori
AffiliationProfessor, Division of Electrical, Electronic and information Engineering, Graduate School of Engineering, Osaka University
Title of the AccomplishmentDiscovery of Nonlinear Optical Crystal CsLiB6O10 and Development of High-Quality Crystal Growth Technology
Fellow RecipientsRyuji Morita
AffiliationProfessor, Division of Applied Physics, Faculty of Engineering, Hokkaido University
Title of the AccomplishmentControl of Topology of Ultrashort Optical Pulses and Its Precise Characterization
Fellow RecipientsMasahiro Yoshimoto
AffiliationVice-President, Professor, Faculty of Electrical Engineering and Electronics, Kyoto Institute of Technology
Title of the AccomplishmentEpitaxial Growth of Device-Quality Bismuth-Containing Semimetal-Semiconductor Alloys and Control of Their Band Structure
Members of the 10th Fellow Awards Candidate Selection Committee
Chairman: Kazuya Masu
Members: Shingo Ichimura, Tsugunori Okumura, Satashi Kawada, Tetsuyuki Kurata, Yoshikazu Nakayama, Kazuhiro Hane